Trent Chau | Photographer and Instructor

Everything Photography | Pictures, Reviews, Education, and More

Future of this blog – There is one.

As of about 1 hour ago we had our last Multimedia II class with Mr. Jones.  The whole class was based on setting up blogs and keeping it going;  however since there really isn’t a requirement to do that for a grade anymore, you can imagine it’s hard to keep the incentive going to keep posting.  Last year’s class really showed the loss of incentive as most of their blogs either went into obscurity or they made a last post saying, “No more!”.  It’s unfortunate really,  networking and the web is a really great way to grow a business, which many of us are seeking to do as soon as we graduate.  Who is to say how this year’s class will be, and who’s to judge anyways?  None the less, there are intentions for this blog (and keeping it going) so lets chat about that.

I love this blog, and blogging in general.  But this blog has been gotten more attention than even my website.  So it’s staying up.  Here are some changes and cool things you can expect.

My new editor! All smart looking and looking like she's kinda reading

  • The blogs has a new editor.  Yep!  Tiffany loves to edit, while I’m more a guy who just writes what I think.  For any grammar/English people who may be annoyed by the writing errors in any past posts, worry no more! Tiffany is there to save you from a headache.
  • There will be less posts, but the ones I make will be bigger.  Mr. Jones, understandably,  had a weekly post count that we had to hit for class which lead to a lot of “filler” posts.  There will be a lot less of those.  In their place will be a lot more postings about my photography (shoots, planning, and so on,) as well as experiences with photography throughout the web as a student and artist (inspiration, cool trends, etc.)  There will also still be my Tumblr, which will showcase photographs of the moment and other tidbits.  Lastly, there is my other blog which focuses on the technical side of photography such as equipment reviews, industry trends, and more of that sort.
  • Looking for a way to make the blog and photography self sufficient.  I’m going to be very personal here,  I need to start finding a way to make my photography and blog self sufficient in the sense of a source of income.  After losing my job in Dec 2008 and living off unemployment while going to school along with paying my old life bills (car, child support, etc,) I’m going to really be hitting a hard spot soon.  Unemployment is ending and I have to decided to stay in school for a few more months to finish my degree or continue looking for some sort of job which, in a lock-step degree program is quite difficult.  While this would be a great pity story, I know a lot of the world is going through something like this now. You guys have my condolences.  Another unfortunate thing is B&H has decided to end their affiliation with me because of some silly reasons, so it’s time to look for another affiliate.  There will be a more candid post about that soon.
  • Expect a more multimedia experience.  More videos will be done for this blog; it should be pretty cool.

These are but a few of the things that will be the future of this blog.  I’m looking forward to getting feedback from you guys!

About trentchau

Photographer, videographer, and photography instructor in Atlanta. Born in New Orleans. I love food more than photography, but do love photography quite a bit.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 9, 2010 by in Uncategorized.

Affiliates – Please support this blog and it’s free content

This blog is fueled by these affiliates, please check them out.


Trent’s Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

